SST #3: The Love That Split the World (Review)

the-love-that-split-the-world

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

Publication Date: January 26th, 2016

Publisher / Imprint: Razorbill Books of Penguin Random House

Genre: YA Time Travel Contemporary Romance

Source: Received physical ARC from ARC tour

Summary (from Goodreads):

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
 
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start…until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a preschool where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
 
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
 
Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

Disclaimer – Receiving the physical ARC doesn’t influence my review. I judge the book based on the 5 things I look at, which you can look at in my Rating System.

review-pic

     After reading this, I have never read a book like this. A contemporary filled with Native American mythology, which I rarely read about, and deals with not only time travel, but space travel as well, which this time, I never seen, and that’s how this book had me sold, and at the end, I’m happy to say that my first read of 2016 was an awesome start to the new year. From the premise, The Love That Split the World is Friday Night Lights and The Time Traveler’s Wife. I haven’t read The Time Traveler’s Wife, which I should read at some point, but judging from the summary, it does have that in this book in some way. And it did have the FNL-feel in the book as well. So yes, if you both like or love Friday Night Lights and The Time Traveler’s Wife, then this is your cup of tea then.

     So the story is about Natalie who experiences the “wrong things” after having nightmares and the “Others” in her childhood and her Grandmother, an astral being who isn’t actually her grandmother, it’s just a name to call her that, tells her to have a guy in 3 months, which Natalie has no idea who exactly. And she meets Beau, who is also experiencing the same thing Natalie is going through since he was a kid and Natalie now has to save him since there’s no one like him who dealing with this in her town. 

     The first thing that shows I love this book was the storytelling. The stories Grandmother tells to Nat were another thing that I like, though I’ll say it’s odd to say that because usually, they don’t necessarily become as great as the general story, but this time, I end up enjoying the storytelling as much as this book itself.

     Another thing I love was Henry‘s writing. You’ll encounter Native American myths and psychological information and also how this space / time travel works in here and I completely understood it, even when I read some of the advance writing I seen. And this is from a debut author if you don’t know. When I read the mythologies, I’ve been beguiled. When I read about time and also space travel, I am now fascinated. Especially the scientific stuff she put, not only it’s interesting but I have comprehended it in my head. Well not that I can remember all of that but what matters is that it totally makes sense. Props to you Henry. Props to you.

    Now at first, I have seem to have a problem with the characters. Matt is acting like an asshole later in the book. Yeah, he seems to be alright when he’s first introduced. But he just seems to be bugging not only Natalie because she doesn’t love him back but also me because he’s just a jerk.

     But then at the end, something just happened and you know, that spoiler made me feel so bad about disliking him so much. You have been redeemed Matt. And then Rachel, who again, you might see her as a good person but she just became a bitch all of a sudden and just, why?? And the redeeming happened when I see her for the last time and I end up thinking maybe she is not the bitch I thought she would be, so yeah. So technically, I like most of the characters, but I do like every character there is.

     I am so happy that the parents are in the story just enough. If you read my review of What You Left Behind, parents in the book seem to be in the background than in the scene. And reading the mom and the dad more often makes me feel relieved about it. And then there was the romance between Nat and Beau, which I totally like to see together than Matt, of course. But here is the weird thing about them together, I don’t find them very compatible. The best time that would happen would be when they’re kissing which gives me the giddies. I like them together, but not at the level where I WANT THEM together.

rating-pic

It was a wonderful story, indeed. A concept that made me love it instantly, and after, I still did. Henry‘s writing was sublime, with her magnificent storytelling and great detailing, it made the story go by faster. A few of the characters kind of fell flat at first because I don’t see their personality realistically and made me kind of dislike them. But when I finished reading it, it seems they redeemed and I kind of now liked everyone. Why? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

This is a debut you shouldn’t missed so I would recommend this book if you want to be captivated on the stories that was executed well and a romance you want to ship hard on. Because this is from a debut author, and if she is writing another book, I would totally want to read it in the near future.

Cover and Premise –

4-star-rating

Characters

4-star-rating

Story –

4-star-rating

Pacing –

3.5-star-rating

Writing –

4.5-star-rating

Results – (4 Stars)

4-star-rating

buy-the-book-here-pic

You can now preorder the book since it’s not fully out yet so get to it.

amazon_logo_RGB barnes-and-noble the_book_depository_logo

about-the-author-pic

emily-henry

Emily Henry is a full-time writer, proofreader, and donut connoisseur. She studied creative writing at Hope College and the New York Center for Art & Media Studies, and now spends most of her time in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the part of Kentucky just beneath it. The Love That Split the World is her debut novel.

Find her on:

twitter-logo instagram-logo

 

5 thoughts on “SST #3: The Love That Split the World (Review)

Leave a Reply

