SST #2: Dreamstrider (Review and Giveaway)

Hello and welcome to another review from the Sunday Street Team, created and hosted by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28. This month’s book I’m going to discuss is Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith.

dreamstriderDreamstrider by Lindsay Smith

Publication Date: October 6th, 2015

Publisher / Imprint: Roaring Brook Press

Genre: YA Fantasy Thriller

Source: Received e-ARC via Netgalley and Purchased Copy from Barnes and Noble

Summary (from Goodreads):

Livia is a dreamstrider. She can inhabit a subject’s body while they are sleeping and, for a short time, move around in their skin. She uses her talent to work as a spy for the Barstadt Empire. But her partner, Brandt, has lately become distant, and when Marez comes to join their team from a neighboring kingdom, he offers Livia the option of a life she had never dared to imagine. Livia knows of no other dreamstriders who have survived the pull of Nightmare. So only she understands the stakes when a plot against the Empire emerges that threatens to consume both the dreaming world and the waking one with misery and rage.

review-pic

     As I started reading it, when I finished reading the prologue, I like how simple the plot line was that I can fully imagine from my head. From her life filled with many hardships to the origin of her becoming a dreamstrider, I was able to understand everything. But when I read the first few chapters, I became confused of what is happening now. I repeated a few times until I now what is happening and also why later in the story. Besides the fact I’ve gotten baffled in the start, the story overall was really entertaining. I enjoyed the full description of Oneiros, which I totally want to try to go to to be honest, if only the Professor thinks what I have it takes to be a dreamstrider. Even also the political factor of the book. I don’t really understand and like politics in general to be honest. I mean screw you Donald Trump, but anyway, it takes a lot of knowledge to getting to know the political world in general. I mean I’m just 14, so I hardly know what they’re doing besides the president himself. But in Dreamstider, I actually apprehended it and it’s pretty vital for the story that depending on how much you understand from it could affect on how good Dreamstrider was.

     I was okay with its vivid detail of Oneiros but its detail of the Barstadt Empire did fell flat for me. I know about the university, Ministry, the tunnel passages, and even the harbor, but how about the whole surrounding of Barstadt City and actually the whole ground level of the town? I didn’t get to see the daily life of the city, the economy or the whole architecture of the city. I mean the story is surrounded by all of that and it has lacked that. A bit sad from that.

     Most of the characters in the book were likable for me. Livia was actually nice, but also tries to be determines to be strong since her destiny was to get rid of Nightmare. But sometimes, I feel that’s a bit too nice in my definition of “nice” in a fantasy read. Brandt…well he’s just the guy who just says about confessing his love to Irina, his betrothed. Irina suprisingly accepts about what has happened in the end. That’s a bit odd for someone you’re supposed to marry broke up to love someone else. At least be a bit angry about it and the whole process of breaking up.

     I liked that there wasn’t as much romance as it was suppose to be, which I don’t see in a book. Really. Most of the books I read consists of either just romance or fantasy…plus romance. But because of it, I didn’t wanted to read about Livia’s crush on Brandt or Livia and Marez’s relationship. Just doesn’t feel right in the book. I do like Livia’s chemistry with Brandt but I did not want romance since its genre isn’t romance, it was just there for some reason.

rating-pic

So I really enjoyed my time reading Dreamstrider. With a very interesting concept about dreamstriding, how many twists and turns that I did not expect from it, how understandable politics in the story was for me and how this book didn’t focused on romance, where actually this time, it was used right for this particular book. But around the ending of the book, I did suspect elements that were quite similar to a few books I’ve read, how there were a few instances I was a bit confused, the lack of world-building of the book, which made me feel “meh” about. Back to the storyline, again, I will say I did enjoy it, but I feel like I seen this a few times. Maybe in some books. Maybe in some movies I seen this. The fact that the antagonist of the whole story is actually one of the good supporting character who has taken over the society and the MC or the hero/heroine would kill the bad guy. That kind of element is something I seen anything fantasy or maybe paranormal. I don’t know. Just that I read this kind of thing before.

Cover and Premise –4-star-rating

Characters –

4-star-rating

Story –

4-star-rating

Pacing –

4-star-rating

Writing –

3.5-star-rating

Results – (3.9 Stars)

4-star-rating

giveaway-pic

This time, we are giving away 15 copies of Dreamstrider (has ended already). 15!!! Let’s hope you would be able to win a copy. Here’s the link to enter to get a chance to score one.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

buy-the-book-here-pic

amazon_logo_RGB barnes the_book_depository_logo

about-the-author-pic

lindsay-smith

Lindsay Smith is the author of Sekret, Skandal, its sequel, and her recent book, Dreamstrider. Her love of Russian culture has taken her to Moscow, Saint Petersburg, and a reindeer festival in the middle of Siberia. She lives in Washington, DC, where she writes on foreign affairs.

Check her out more at:

goodreads-logo twitter-logo

sunday-street-team

Leave a Reply

