Book Talk: Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Publication Date: January 3rd, 2012

Publisher / Imprint: Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi Dystopian Romance

Source: Purchased at Barnes and Noble

Summary (from Goodreads):

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Before I start talking about my thoughts and opinions on Cinder, the main reason I finally got the chance to read this is because Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide created a readalong, called “The Lunar Chronicles Read Along“, which there would be more info on her post so if you’re interested then you can sign up there also (CLOSED). Mainly, it has to do with reading or rereading either one or all of the books in the Lunar Chronicles (depending where you’re exactly at in the series) before the final book, Winter comes out and we would all get to read Winter as it releases And Winter comes out on November 10th…wait, that’s my birthday. Guess I know what to do when my birthday is around the corner.

review-pic

First of all, I didn’t expected this book to be that good.

     It really, like really, got me by surprise where whenever I don’t read it (when I was currently reading Cinder), I would try to get myself to read Cinder. It’s like the book has some kind of glamour and used it on me that I should be reading it once it hits me (Lunar Chronicles reference there). And this is the first book from the Lunar Chronicles series so I should be expecting more things from Scarlet and Cress…but not too much since it’ll become underwhelming once I finish them if I go too excited towards reading the sequel.

     Because Cinder relates to the original story, Cinderella, I was a bit cautious with how the retelling would be too similar to the original and that it wouldn’t stand out more than the original. Yes, there were a few parallels that relates to Cinderella but what really makes it more remarkable is that the parallels in the book weren’t exactly from the fairy tale. It was made to some kind of element where it makes sense to the story, but doesn’t relate exactly to the classic, which Meyer did it so beautifully.

     I like that most of each character where likable in their own way and also that whatever they do in the book, they make me…feel? What I mean by that is for example, Adri. The cruel and heartless stepmother who is a f***in’ bitch towards Cinder. So whatever she does something so horrible to Cinder, it makes me want to pound her and savagely beat her. I sound like I need help. Don’t worry. It’s just how I feel. It’s not like I’ll do it in real life…in case of emergency (whatever scenario it is I am in).

     I also see that some of the characters are parallels to Cinderella. Cinder is…you know. *face moves to “Cinderella”* Then there’s Kai (Prince Charming), Iko (mice), and so on. But there was a new face in the Cinderella retelling this time, which was Queen Levana. She’s the main antagonist but I still think Adri is more evil than her. We’ll see how it goes later on.

     When it comes to reading sci-fi (science-fiction in short), I do have a bit of difficulty of reading it. Being the writing very advanced, but more technical way, I get confused on their description of things mentioned in the book, but reading this book, I hardly have difficulty doing so, so that’s great.

rating-pic

 

I really like this book. I didn’t expect the book to be really good, even when this is just the first book of the series that’s been talked about ever since it came out. I also heard that the sequels are just better than the last, which makes me excited for Scarlet when I get the chance to read them. Even though it’s categorized as YA, I think kids that are in middle grade level can also read this. There’s no bad language and this is a retelling of a Disney classic that would make them want to remember the movie as they’re reading this. This is a more futuristic, action-packed, and distinct version of a Cinderella retelling that they will enjoy a lot.

I would give this…

Cover and Premise –3-star-rating

Characters –

4.5-star-rating

Story –

4.5-star-rating

Pacing –

4-star-rating

Writing –

4-star-rating

Results – (4 Stars)

4-star-rating

Not the best book I read out of all the books I read, but one of my favorites of 2015.

buy-the-book-here-pic

amazon_logo_RGB barnes  the_book_depository_logo

about-the-author-pic

marissa-meyer

Marissa Meyer is the New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington. She’s a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child. She may or may not be a cyborg. Cinder, her first novel, debuted on the New York Times bestseller list. Visit Marissa on the Web at marissameyer.com.

You can find her on

 facebook-logo goodreads-logo pinterest-logo twitter-logo

2 thoughts on “Book Talk: Cinder

Leave a Reply

